Did you know that May is Celiac Disease Awareness Month? Celiac Disease may or may not sound familiar to you but it is something that is more than likely to affect someone that you know like a friend or loved one. According to John Hopkins Medicine, more than 2 million people in the United States have celiac disease and not all of them even know they have it. Symptoms of a gluten intolerance include abdominal pain, diarrhea, headaches and more.

Beer is made of gluten, so someone with an intolerance won’t be able to enjoy a round with friends at the bar. But not all is lost, there are some beers (and non beers) that are gluten reduced, or even free options you can enjoy whether taking a pack home or enjoying a pint at the bar. Here are six options you can drink for a pleasant gluten free (or reduced) experience.

 

Omission

Omission is seen as the standard for gluten reduced beers, and for good reason. They have won numerous awards and are fan favorites. Each Omission beer is brewed from four basic ingredients: barley, wheat, hops, and yeast. It’s fermented, then an enzyme is added to break up the gluten created in it. In addition, each can of Omission is thoroughly tested at an independent lab to ensure gluten is below a certain level so they are safe for drinking. This rigid commitment to the quality of their beer is extended to all of their varieties, both regular and non-alcoholic versions, so you can enjoy a beer safely and healthily.

Stone Delicious IPA

This bright, citrus forward IPA is definitely worthy of its name. Made with Columbus, Calypso, Lemondrop, & El Dorado hops, Stone Delicious IPA is crafted to reduce gluten, so everyone can enjoy the lemon candy-like goodness.

Daura Damm

Daura Damm launched in 2006 as one of the first gluten-removed beers and since then has won a bevy of awards from various outlets and websites all across the world. What’s the hubbub? It’s a specially crafted Mediterranean style lager with a long lasting head, and a generous aroma of fresh spices. Perfect to drink anywhere, anytime.

Go Brewing Freedom Cali

Looking for a local craft beer option? Look no further than Chicagoland’s Go Brewing. Their Freedom Cali Pale Ale is not only gluten free (via Clarex) but also non-alcoholic (less than 0.5% abv) so it’s both a healthy and alcohol-free experience! This California style Pale Ale will certainly be a go-to in your gluten free toolkit.

Hard Seltzer

You’re not just limited to beers. Hard seltzers are another refreshing beverage people with gluten intolerance can enjoy. Why? Because seltzers don’t include any gluten. Light and refreshing, hard seltzers are a year round staple. We recommend Nutrl Vodka Seltzer. It comes in a variety of flavors – you can change it up whenever or however you want! Summer’s coming up, why not try out the Lemonade variety pack that includes classic lemonade, strawberry, peach, and blackberry flavors!

Hard Cider

You can also enjoy hard ciders, these drinks are crafted from apples, meaning those with a gluten intolerance don’t have to worry. Just like hard seltzers, hard ciders also have a tremendous variety so you’ll never get bored. We recommend ERIS hard ciders, full of luscious flavors and fruits that you’ll savor every sip and keep coming back for more. ERIS co-founder Katy Pizza has a gluten intolerance and a big reason why she moved to cider, thus helping create ERIS Brewing and Ciderhouse. Katy recommends ERIS’ Pedestrian cider. It’s a “gateway” cider, meaning it’s for everyone, and from there you can explore the world of hard cider to your heart’s content!